10.15 Hunt

Ed and I went up to the farm last night to see if the deer would be moving with the colder weather and the rut being in. I have to say that I was pretty much convinced all day that I was going to have a shot at a buck so I had an anxious feeling most of the day. Me and deer hunting are a very strange combination as countless people could tell you. I really do love it – I love being in the woods, watching deer, being at camp and hanging out with friends. But, for some reason there is also something about it that puts me on edge for sure. Anyway, we got up to the farm and Ed decided to sit on a stand I put up this year overlooking a soy bean field where a nice buck was seen about two weeks ago and I sat my normal stand on a cut corn field where I had seen two bucks chasing does not long ago.

Once in the stand the weather was perfect and the evening had that feeling that suddenly a gnarly old buck was just going to step out and offer me a dream shot. That didnt happen. Instead, I had a young doe rustling the corn stalks for a while and she just wouldnt leave. I wanted to check another field so I got out of the stand and eeked around the corner without being noticed by the other deer. The next field had a group of four does that I watched from behind a pine tree for about 30 minutes hoping that a buck would be shadowing them on the edge of the field. Nada.

Went to pick Ed up and he said the same. More does and no bucks. So strange to have a little cold snap, overcast skies, mid October, plenty of does and not a single buck. Still a fun sit in my favorite month of the year.

Looking forward to getting the European mount done on the buck above.

Leave a comment