A Thought About Life and Death

I dont think it would be an exaggeration to say that people have been impacted by the death of Steve Jobs. I’ve found it somewhat fascinating how many have responded to his passing. As I was telling some friends last night it almost feels like Apple was a religion and the god of that universe has been taken away – it seems like people worship their products and clearly the one who had the vision to create them.

On Wednesday night I was sitting with several classmates working on an operations management assignment when one of them said “Steve Jobs is dead”. In that moment the very first thing that went through my mind was”I wonder if it was worth it?”. By that thought I simply meant the amount of time it must have taken and tireless devotion to seeing apple become what it has. Was it worth the sacrifice of family? Was it worth the wealth attained? Did it provide a significant personal sense of purpose? No one would argue on the contribution that Steve Jobs made through his innovative thinking. But as he approached his death I wonder how he felt in the last days?

From what I have read about Steve he was a buddhist, he remained isolated much of the time and he had a book produced about his life so that his children would know who he was because by his own admission he wasn’t there for them like they needed him to be. Clearly he held a worldview where contribution to society and success was prioritized over relationships…over people. Yet somehow in his lack of relational focus he has an entire nation and much of the world mourning his death as if they have lost a friend.

I am sorry for him and the pain that he endured as cancer destroyed his body. I can only imagine how awful it must have been to see everything that you worked on be taken from your leadership and ultimately lost completely with death. I feel for his children who will only get to know their father through a book and for the pain that will cause them. I am sorry for the last moments of his life when he must have realized the gravity of the decisions he made.

Steve’s life serves as an example to me in a few simple ways. His life reminds me that placing anything above faith and family for even a small portion of your life is a gamble when our next breath is not guaranteed. I hope that my faith in Christ will always inspire a worldview that is about relationships above all else and whether my life is perceived a success or failure by the world, my legacy will be in those who I invested in with what time I had here on earth.

 

Leave a comment